Sunscreen Testimonials

Reef Safe Sunscreen Reviews

Thank you for your support!

The sunscreen feels great on my skin and it smells great. It blends into the skin nicely, so you are not white and can use it daily.

CindySue SerranoSeptember 21, 2020

This product is great, I have been using it for a few months now. I like to apply it thick and white but it rubs in clear too. A little goes a long way and I love that it doesn’t sting my eyes! Also love the plastic free container!

JohnJuly 7, 2020

I love the way it smells in the way it feels on my skin! And I love that I’m not killing the refs or putting toxins in my body through my skin!

Lealyn PapayaMay 27, 2017

As someone who lives near the ocean. I need something that works and is safe for the corals and the ocean itself. I use this and only this product. I use it before diving, snorkeling, swimming, and just beach days in general. We like it so much that we used it as the exclusive product for our 300 person 5 day event. Thanks so much for caring for our ocean and my skin all in the

Carlos M.

I am in the water constantly kite surfing on Maui, in Baja, and also where I live in Santa Cruz CA. This stuff protects my face all day. It also protects my lips and tastes/smells yummy! My friends have all loved these beautiful tins I have given them and their families as xmas gifts too.

Heather BornJune 5, 2017

The best choice for reef safe sunscreen. Protects us in all of our outdoor activities. Living in Hawaii the sun is relentless, but this keeps me protected and I know I’m doing something great for our ocean. The essential oils in it smell like you are at a day spa- it’s awesome!

Allison W.

Finally a sunscreen that protects my body and the coral reefs. Raw Love sunscreen has so many positive benifits, it feels smooth to the touch and moisturizes the skin with organic ingredients. I am an Esthetician so i geek out on the finer points when i really like a product. Raw Love is noncomedogenic so it does not clog my pores, never stings my eyes, and smells and feels amazing. The application process takes a little more effort than tube/spray sunscreens, but the trade off is that this product last a really long time. This is a quality product that really goes the extra environmental mile for you and your skin.

Jessica BrockMay 20, 2018

My nephew lives on Maui, when i visited him in December I picked up Raw Love at the surf shop and really love it. I surf everyday in HB and use Raw Love every day i have purchased a couple large tins a few times now. I leave it on thick for protection for hour plus session.

Amazon CustomerSeptember 26, 2020

I’ve been using this reef safe sunscreen for a couple of years. I really like how it smells – it has lavender, peppermint and eucalyptus essential oils, and other natural ingredients. It works great and it’s a moisturizing sunscreen. This is the best reef friendly sunscreen in Hawaii!

Adelle

I just ordered two more. Best sunscreen I’ve ever used. It’s nice not to be afraid of the sun anymore. Thanks!

Eric

Used this sunscreen on our vacation to Maui, it worked wonderfully! I got somewhat red the day I didn’t use it, and ended up using it before bed to help the healing process (the Vitamin E and coconut oil are great for that!) and it helped wonderfully.

 

Raechel S.Dec 30, 2017

Best sunscreen I’ve ever used. I’m prone to sunburns being basically see through. I’ve found that anytime I use it for a day at the park to a full blown camping trip in the sun all day. It works amazing! We even used the product on our infant because we felt so comfortable with the quality and care of what it’s made from! Keep doing beautiful things!

 

Annie M.Feb 3, 2018

I used this sunscreen every day while in Tonga on my adventure of swimming with and photographing the humpback whales. In and out of the ocean alllll day for days in a row, and it worked amazingly!!! I shared with anyone who would try it. Love the smell, love the natural ingredients without the white paste;) and especially love that it kept my ocean friends safe too!!!

 

Juulee T.Sep 20, 2017

I stopped and picked up Raw Love sunscreen the day we arrived for two reasons. 1) I believe in supporting local 2) I wanted to do my part to help save the reefs. So here I am, 5 very active days into my Maui visit and I am so excited because it is a fabulous sunscreen. I am a very pale skinned person and am still the same shade as I was when I arrived. Truly, my goal is to go home the same color, because the other option is lobster red! Thanks for creating such an amazing product!

 

Melissa S.June 28, 2017

Great product, and safe for you and the environment. Also works great for sunburn and after tattoo care.

The first few days of vacation I didn’t apply anything and got quite burned.

After applying Raw Love the burn no longer hurt, and never pealed. I swam in the ocean and it never washed away.
A very little goes a long way. After using it the rest of the trip, I didn’t burn once.

Stephen

Hi Jenna, We met you at the swap meet in Maui and purchased your sunscreen. We live here all winter then return home to Aspen in the summer. We started using your product and found it absolutely amazing. We are outdoor sport people and we are so protected using your product. Our kids and grandkids came for a 10 day visit and of course, we brought out the sunscreen. They wore it every day and not a spot of pink anywhere to be found. I just ordered 4 more jars to be sent home from your website. I just wanted to let you know how absolutely fabulous your product is.

Thank you.

Barbara

My husband and I went to Maui for two weeks. I am a Seattle girl who CANNOT handle sun. I burn if I go out without sunscreen for more than 15 minutes (9 months of rain will do that to a person). I knew I needed sunscreen but it was very important to me that I don’t contribute to pollution of the ocean, reefs and wildlife. I picked up a 2.5 oz tin of raw love sunscreen and used is every single day of vacation. We went to the beach for hours every single day in those two weeks and I never burned. Application may take a few more minutes to ensure you don’t have viable white streaks but honestly for me it was worth it. To know I wasn’t contributing to the damage of the reef and wildlife made me feel so much better about being in the water. In short I love the sunscreen, it works and is safe! I still have maybe 1/3 of my tin left after my two weeks in Maui and I can’t suggest this sunscreen enough!

Jaimie PatneaudeMay 2017

I teach scuba diving in sunny Florida, and Raw Love is THE sunscreen that I always recommend to people. I love how smoothly it goes on and how it feels on my skin — no weird/sticky/dry sunscreen feeling here, just nice and moisturized. It also doesn’t have that “sunscreen smell” at all, I actually love how nice it smells going on! I have darker skin, so the white cast from other sunscreens can be really noticeable and they never seem to rub in all the way. I’ve tried countless brands of reef-safe mineral sunscreen and literally no other brand goes on and rubs in as nicely as Raw Love. The cute and easy to use packaging is a nice plus, too! I just wish I could buy it in store; last time I was running out I forgot to order more ahead of time and was worried that I’d run out completely before my order could make it all the way here…

Yuko TakegoshiSeptember 17, 2020

This stuff is THE BEST! My son has bad eczema and very sensitive skin. We just spent a week mainland on the eastcoast, with a couple 5 hour beach days- including a day where most our party went home burned- and his skin wasn’t the slightest bit red. I only applied once, it worked so well. We usually use Badger Sunscreen, but I like the consistency and ingredients list of this better. Thanks for the great product!

Rebecca

This is the best sunscreen I’ve ever used, and I’ve tried at least 100 over the last 20 years or so. I have extremely fair skin, and I simply cannot be in direct sunlight unless I want blotchy skin, and it only takes a few minutes for this process to begin. Oxybenzone (an ingredient intentionally not used in Raw Love) worked for me for a while, but then it became completely ineffective a couple of years ago, around the time a mutual fb friend (Ian?) posted about Raw Love. I gave it a try, and it offered me protection I’ve never experienced before. I don’t have to fear the sun anymore, and I no longer consider it my enemy! I carry a tiny pocket-sized tin (available on the website) with me everywhere I go.

As a side note, zinc oxide — the primary active ingredient in Raw Love — provides by far the best protection of any active sunscreen ingredient in my experience. Because of the way it works, it will leave a slight tint on your face, which doesn’t bother me at all; however, if you are uncomfortable with it, simply apply the sunscreen, wait a few minutes, and then rub it in further with a good face oil. I use an olive oil and beeswax blend (Badger Balm), or my own coconut and olive oil blend.

I’m happy to answer any questions about this product via public or private message. I don’t endorse products unless they’re truly special, and this one has allowed me to not fear nature anymore — I’d say that’s pretty special.

Eric S.June 10, 2017

I love this sunscreen. I bought it in Maui last August.

I have sensitive skin and I’m allergic to a lot of sunscreens especially on my face. Are use this daily on my face neck and décolleté and hand. I love this stuff. A little goes a long way. I have normal to dry skin. It does not leave you with that pasty white like some mineral sunscreens do.

The shelflife of this stuff is two years which is amazing. At one point it got a little grainy. But I remelted it double boiler style and it’s good to go.

I also love the smell of this stuff. Smells like a spa.unlight unless I want blotchy skin, and it only takes a few minutes for this process to begin. Oxybenzone (an ingredient intentionally not used in Raw Love) worked for me for a while, but then it became completely ineffective a couple of years ago, around the time a mutual fb friend (Ian?) posted about Raw Love. I gave it a try, and it offered me protection I’ve never experienced before. I don’t have to fear the sun anymore, and I no longer consider it my enemy! I carry a tiny pocket-sized tin (available on the website) with me everywhere I go.

As a side note, zinc oxide — the primary active ingredient in Raw Love — provides by far the best protection of any active sunscreen ingredient in my experience. Because of the way it works, it will leave a slight tint on your face, which doesn’t bother me at all; however, if you are uncomfortable with it, simply apply the sunscreen, wait a few minutes, and then rub it in further with a good face oil. I use an olive oil and beeswax blend (Badger Balm), or my own coconut and olive oil blend.

I’m happy to answer any questions about this product via public or private message. I don’t endorse products unless they’re truly special, and this one has allowed me to not fear nature anymore — I’d say that’s pretty special.

TracyJune 27, 2020

Bought some off you at the swap meet. It’s seriously the best product I have ever bought.

Sean
organic sunscreen reviews

Submit a review:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Spread the aloha (awareness)

Encourage your ‘ohana to switch from chemical sunscreens to reef friendly natural sunscreens like Raw Love.